Daily Archives: July 22, 2011

Sweetapolita – Tips About Icing

For every type of cake that can be made, there are as many infinite options for icing too. I love icing but it was one of the most tedious parts of the research and development for Gramma Dot’s Sweet Shoppe. How to get the best icing without using products that didn’t follow our own vision of making treats that taste great but don’t pack on needless calories and fat, or at least more than what can be expected. We use natural flavours as much as possible, use vegetable based food colourings if needed but try to have the colour be a authentic as possible. One of the other things we avoid is shortening. Which in the summer or anywhere really were heat is an issue is the only thing you can use that is virtually heat proof. But the next best thing is icing’s like Swiss or Italian Meringue Buttercream. They are far more heat tolerant than your standard buttercream. When I saw this blog I knew it was something well worth sharing. Sweetapolita has an awesome section near in the middle of the post that answers a bunch of questions about Swiss Meringue Buttercream. As an added benefit the cakes are pretty darn cute too!

A few quick facts about my deep and meaningful relationship with Swiss Meringue Buttercream:
1. No, I didn’t invent SMB, but I love its not-too-sweet taste and satiny texture, and I use it for all of my wedding cakes, gourmet cakes, and even many casual cakes and cupcakes. I’m not an SMB expert, but I make it often, love it, and was taught how to make it by professionals at Bonnie Gordon Confectionary College in Toronto. (Read more…)